The Tau Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc, was chartered Friday March 23rd, 1917 on the campus of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL by eleven extraordinary collegiate men.

Brother H.K. Barnett
Brother Benjamin C. Duster
Brother George A. Ferguson  
Brother Lewis Giles 
Brother Clifton Hardy 
Brother R.E. Mizell 
Brother W.J. Powell 
Brother Theodore Roane 
Brother W.H. Sutton 
Brother Ross Taylor 
Brother A. E. Woodruff